go to MSN.com
Originally written on The Last Angry Fan  |  Last updated 11/20/14

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano
19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
MORE FROM YARDBARKER

Darrelle Revis, Ndamukong Suh exchange words after game

Curt Schilling's son causes scare at Logan Airport

Manziel's girlfriend tells Browns to put Johnny Football in

Scalpers in Detroit selling free Jets-Bills tickets for $125

Report: Redskins could bench Robert Griffin III

Broncos have meeting with scoreboard operator

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?
GET THE DAILY NEWSLETTER:

Report: Cowboys could still pursue Adrian Peterson

Manny Pacquiao: I'm ready to fight Floyd Mayweather Jr.

John Calipari gets daughter's birthday wrong

Carson: Hall of Fame career not worth concussion problems

Tiger hires new swing coach

Is Sting making his WWE debut at Survivor Series?

WATCH: Janoris Jenkins returns interception 99 yards for TD

WATCH: TY Hilton chokes up in emotional postgame interview

WATCH: Chris Clemons accidentally knocks ref's hat off

WATCH: Aaron Rodgers throws nifty TD across his body

WATCH: LeGarrette Blount does Antonio Brown's end zone dance

WATCH: Eagles take opening kickoff 107 yards for TD

Western Carolina coach blasts Kirk Herbsreit

WATCH: Young reporter asks Helfrich funny question

Sager makes first appearance since leukemia diagnosis

Harvard kicker wears glasses

WATCH: Tennessee fans go a little overboard celebrating TD

Dwight Howard out indefinitely after having PRP on knee

All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Darrelle Revis, Ndamukong Suh exchange words after game

A referee and coaches had to separate Ndamukong Suh and Darrelle Revis after the Patriots’ 34-9 win over the Detroit Lions on Sunday. Video aired by CBS showed Revis, Devin McCourty and newly-acquired LeGarrette Blount smiling in Suh’s direction and appearing to trade some trash talk with the Lions defensive lineman during the handshakes portion...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
1 hour ago

Curt Schilling's son causes scare at Logan Airport

Former big leaguer Curt Schilling had a bizarre Saturday morning after one of his sons blurted out, while standing in the security line at Boston’s Logan Airport, that he had left a fake hand grenade in his bag. And, because this is what you do now apparently, the righty hit the Twitters and told his 95,200-plus followers what had happened. Start your day with this. Going through...
Via Hall of Very Good
20 hours ago

Manziel's girlfriend tells Browns to put Johnny Football in

Johnny Manziel’s lovely girlfriend, Colleen Crowley, is not happy with what she’s seeing from Cleveland Browns starting quarterback Brian Hoyer during Sunday’s game against the Atlanta Falcons. Crowley took to Twitter during the second half to urge the team to give Manziel a shot under center and, for the record, we’re with her on this Article found on: Next Impulse Sports
Via Next Impulse Sports
4 hours ago

Scalpers in Detroit selling free Jets-Bills tickets for $125

Free tickets are surprisingly expensive in Detroit. After a record amount of snow hit New York recently, Sunday’s Bills-Jets game — originally scheduled to be played in Buffalo — was moved to Monday night in Detroit. General-admission tickets for the game at Ford Field were made available for free on Saturday, and were all snatched up quickly. The Lions held on to 500 tickets...
Via NESN.com
5 hours ago

Report: Redskins could bench Robert Griffin III

If you have paid attention to the entire Robert Griffin III drama in D.C. this past week, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that the Washington Redskins are fully prepared to bench the struggling signal caller should he struggle early against the San Francisco 49ers on Sunday. According to ESPN insider Chris Mortensen, RGIII could very well be yanked in favor of Colt McCoy should...
Via Sportsnaut
6 hours ago

Broncos have meeting with scoreboard operator

            The Broncos host the Dolphins on Sunday, the first home game for Denver since Peyton Manning ripped the scoreboard operator after the Broncos 35-21 win over the Chargers. According to ESPN’s Adam Schefter, the Broncos scoreboard operator has met with two different Broncos executives to discuss what is “appropriate and inappropriate going...
Via Sports-Glory
8 hours ago

Report: Cowboys could still pursue Adrian Peterson

Ian Rapoport of NFL Media is reporting that the Dallas Cowboys could pursue Adrian Peterson as a replacement for RB DeMarco Murray next year. Obviously, this is assuming that the Vikings release Peterson following the 2014 season, which is a possibility given his cap figure and age. ESPN’s Adam Schefter reports that although Peterson has support from the Vikings’ coaches...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
8 hours ago

Manny Pacquiao: I'm ready to fight Floyd Mayweather Jr.

Manny Pacquiao dominated Chris Algieri in Macau on Saturday and his record improved to 57-5-2. The talk has now moved to the possibility of Pacquiao fighting Floyd Mayweather Jr. in the near future. And Pac Man was asked about it after Saturday’s match. “I’m stronger and faster now,” he said. “I’m so happy with my performance. Yes, I’m ready to face Mayweather. I...
Via The Sports Daily
13 hours ago

John Calipari gets daughter's birthday wrong

Kentucky head coach John Calipari forgot his own daughter's birthday, and she was quick to point it out.
Via Gamedayr
22 hours ago

Carson: Hall of Fame career not worth concussion problems

via Bleacher Report Harry Carson had one of those professional football careers that end up in Canton, Ohio as a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.  Carson played linebacker for the New York Giants between 1976 and 1988.  He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2006. In an interview with Penn State radio, the legendary linebacker admitted that he wouldn...
Via Down and Distance
1 day ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.