go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

S.F. Giants CEO believes ads on uniforms are coming

San Francisco Giants CEO Larry Baer indicated in an interview with a local radio station in the Bay Area that he believes advertisements on MLB uniforms are coming soon. One of the reasons Baer believes that this is a likelihood is due to the fact that current commissioner Bud Selig has been a consistent opponent of placing ads on players’ uniforms during his trenue. He’s set...
Via Sportsnaut
3 hours ago

Rocker on 'Survivor': It was worse than I expected

The CBS show “Survivor” will feature a familiar face to baseball fans this season. Former Atlanta Braves closer John Rocker will be in the competitive reality series, which begins its 29th season on Sept. 24. The pitcher, who made over $5 million in his baseball career, had to survive in a remote area in Nicaragua as part of the show. While we’ll have to watch the show to find...
Via NESN.com
22 hours ago

Floyd Mayweather: Reality show is scripted

Floyd Mayweather Jr.’s recent confession is just another reason why we shouldn’t believe everything we see on TV. Mayweather made an appearance before the Nevada State Athletic Commission today, after being called in to speak about an intense sparring session that was featured on an episode of his Showtime reality series. He defended himself by dropping a bomb, claiming nearly...
Via The Sports Daily
5 hours ago

Jerry Jones questions Morris Claiborne's performance

Dallas Cowboys cornerback Morris Claiborne was torched for five receptions, 108 yards and two scores against the St. Louis Rams on Sunday. The former first-round pick has been absolutely atrocious when he’s actually seen the football field in his two-plus years with the team. Anyone who has watched the Cowboys play during this span know this full well. Cowboys owner Jerry Jones...
Via Sportsnaut
5 hours ago

Bill Simmons dares ESPN to punish him for ripping Goodell?

ESPN’s Bill Simmons sometimes goes off the rails in very un-ESPN-like fashion. As a result, he’s part of a small group of key faces at the Worldwide Leader who are sometimes penalized by their employer for going too far. It’s debatable whether Simmons went too far with his latest diatribe against NFL commissioner Roger Goodell on Monday, but it does appear as though — in...
Via Awful Announcing
7 hours ago

Judge in child support case: Paul George is a deadbeat dad

Earlier this year I broke the story of Pacers All-Star Paul George offering a former stripper, Daniela Rajic $1 million to have an abortion when she became pregnant following a summer fling with George last year. George is currently attempting to get custody/and or arrange child support for Baby Girl Olivia born on May 1st, 2014. The judge in the case is reportedly tired of George...
Via Jocks and Stiletto Jill
8 hours ago

Should Geno Smith sit and Michael Vick start for Jets?

Photo Credit: Jets/Facebook After the New York Jets suffered their Monday Night loss to the Chicago Bears (27-19), two main weaknesses remain evident. One, the Jets secondary has underachieved tremendously being one of the worst in the league. Two, Geno Smith continues to battle with inconsistency throwing the football. In just three weeks, out of 35 quarterbacks that have played...
Via Blog Surface
9 hours ago

Martellus Bennett felt ‘disrespected’ by Rex Ryan

Chicago Bears tight end Martellus Bennett said after Monday night’s 27-19 victory over the New York Jets that he entered the game feeling disrespected by coach Rex Ryan. “Today I felt a little disrespected,” Bennett told reporters in the postgame locker room, via ESPN.com. “We [the Bears] played a highlight video, and in the highlight video, Rex is talking about [how the...
Via Sports-Glory
9 hours ago

Ex-CB sues Lane Kiffin, USC, makes troubling allegations

Former USC cornerback Brian Baucham has filed a lawsuit against the university and former head coach Lane Kiffin, alleging that he suffered a brain injury during a game after he was forced to play while ill. According to CBS Los Angeles, Baucham claims he suffered cardiopulmonary damage and brain injury when the Trojans played Cal […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
9 hours ago

Bruce Arians: Hit on Drew Stanton was ‘cheap shot’

For the second straight week, Drew Stanton got it done. The Cardinals' backup quarterback, filling in for the injured Carson Palmer, threw for 244 yards and two touchdowns against the 49ers, helping the team improve to 3-0. Along the way, however, Stanton was the victim of a brutal hit by Niners linebacker Dan Skuta -- a hit that Cards coach Bruce Arians deemed dirty. https:...
Via Helmet2Helmet
20 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.