To be honest, Todd Rogers said, he thought his hit that helped put the Americans one point away from victory was illegal, too.
Rogers took a spike off the chest and then popped it up into the air for teammate Phil Dalhausser, who passed it back for Rogers to clear out. Whether that should count as three hits or four - one too many - depends on whom you ask, but in the referee's opinion it was a legal hit that gave the Americans a 14-12 lead.
''I told him (the referee) I thought it was a double-hit,'' Rogers said after holding on to win 19-21, 21-16, 15-13 and remain unbeaten in the preliminary round of the Olympic beach volleyball tournament. ''He said it was all one motion. ... It's a judgment call.''
Beach volleyball teams have three hits to get the ball back over the net, but contact made while attempting a block doesn't count. The referee told Rogers that when the ball bounced off his chest and wrist before Rogers could react it only counted as one hit.
But Spain's Pablo Her...