Found November 11, 2012 on
Nittany Lions Den:
You all saw it – dozens of times by now.
Penn State tight end Matt Lehman stretched the ball with two hands on it to the goal line trying to score the go-ahead touchdown. The ball got knocked loose. The officials ruled the ball came out before it crossed the goal line. Fumble. Touchback. Nebraska ball and Nebraska maintained the lead.
Only it wasn’t a fumble. It was a touchdown that wasn’t.
You’ve all read about it – and there will be plenty of opinions out there for you to sift through. So I tried really hard to come up with something other than 600 more venom spewing words on how a blown call – on the field and by replay – cost Penn State a win Saturday at Nebraska.
Unfortunately, I couldn’t. So here are the simple ABCs of the touchdown that wasn’t.
Angry – Penn State fans are angry and have every right to be. This was a bang-bang call on the field, but replay clearly showed this as a touchdown. The ABC announcing team of Sean McDonough and Chris ...
BEST OF MAXIM
It appeared Penn State scored the go ahead touchdown against Nebraska. Matt McGloin connected with Matt Lehman, who reached ove the goal line for the score. The play was ruled a fumble on the field and after being reviewed.
Penn State lost in heartbreaking, and controversial, fashion this past Saturday to Nebraska. With 7:40 left, trailing by four, Penn State tight end Matt Lehman appeared to score the go-ahead touchdown; however, he fumbled the ball as he was crossing … Continue reading →
Penn State saw a touchdown.
Officials saw a fumble.
Tight end Matt Lehman lost the ball as he was about to score the go-ahead touchdown against No. 18 Nebraska on Saturday, and the Cornhuskers ended up winning 32-23 after coming back from a double-digit, second-half deficit for the fourth time this season.
Penn State (6-4, 4-2) had its three-game Big Ten road win streak end.
Football is a game of inches. But sometimes, it's about a foot.
College football's Week 11 slate offered a number of plays near sidelines or endlines where teams were reminded that receivers must have control of the ball and put down an entire foot -- from heel-to-toe or toe-to-heel -- in order for a catch to count.
From the NCAA rulebook: "If one foot first lands...