Found November 29, 2012 on 5thRound.com:
The injury bug strikes again! With just nine days remaining until the curtain is drawn on the Octagon’s final FOX show of 2012, UFC president Dana White announced Lavar Johnson (Pictured) will be forced to exit stage left with a groin injury. Johnson was slated to battle Brendan Schaub in a preliminary bout, which was slated to headline the FX broadcast. No word on what the promotion plans to do with “The Hybrid.” After rattling off four straight wins, Schaub has dropped his last two scraps in devastating KO fashion. The 29-year-old has been itching to right the ship and secure his job with the planet’s premier mixed martial arts promotion. “Frustrated would be an understatement..back to the gym,” Schaub tweeted after hearing the disappointing news. Key Arena in Seattle, Washington hosts the festivities. FOX broadcasts the main card live beginning at 8PM ET/5PM PT. Here is the show’s revised roster: Preliminary Card: (Facebook 3:30PM ET/12:30PM PT) Tim Means vs. Abel Trujillo Scott Jorgensen vs. John Albert Daron Cruickshank vs. Henry Martinez (FX 5PM ET/2PM PT) Brendan Schaub vs. TBD Jeremy Stephens vs. Yves Edwards Joe Proctor vs. Ramsey Nijem Dennis Siver vs. Nam Phan Raphael Assuncao vs. Mike Easton Michael Chiesa vs. Marcus LeVesseur Main Card: (FOX 8PM ET/5PM PT) Matt Brown vs. Mike Swick BJ Penn vs. Rory MacDonald Mauricio “Shogun” Rua vs. Alexander Gustafsson Nate Diaz vs. Benson Henderson (UFC lightweight champion)
THE BACKYARD
BEST OF MAXIM
RELATED ARTICLES

Brendan Schaub Pulled From ‘UFC on FOX 5,’ Roster Set with 12 Fights

Because Levar Johnson’s groin gave out too close to showtime, the UFC wasn’t able to locate a suitable replacement in time to meet Brendan Schaub next Saturday in Seattle. So unfortunately for “The Hybrid,” he’s been yanked from the Octagon’s final FOX show of 2012. The lightweight affair between Daron Cruickshank and Henry Martinez has been bumped to the FX broadcast...
MMA News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.