Found 4 hours ago on Fox Sports:
Friday night's Nationwide Series event will mark the 1,000th race in the storied history of NASCAR's No. 2 division. From Dale Earnhardt Sr. winning the first event at Daytona on Feb. 13, 1982, to Kevin Harvick's win last weekend in Atlanta, NASCAR's 'second series' has produced some fantastic races over the last three-plus decades. The series that used to compete at rural short tracks such Hickory, South Boston, Caraway and Greenville-Pickens has morphed into the second-most popular form of motorsports in the United States. Some of NASCAR's all-time greatest drivers have won races in the Nationwide Series, which has featured many exciting moments and helped advance both safety and the sport as a whole, along the way. The Nationwide Series, as it has been known since 2008, was developed out of the NASCAR Late Model Sportsman Division in 1982. After Earnhardt Sr. won that inaugural race at Daytona, most of the season was run primarily on the short tracks throughout the Southeast. Over the years, the series evolved from the sportsman class to a training ground for young talent, and ultimately to a place where the stars of the Sprint Cup Series often race and win. Drivers such as Jack Ingram, Sam Ard, Tommy Ellis and Larry Pearson laid the groundwork of the series. Chuck Bown, Tommy Houston and Steve Grissom brought it into a new era. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Martin Truex Jr. and Kevin Harvick prepared for their successful Sprint Cup Series careers by becoming champions in the Nationwide Series. Kyle Busch, well, he's made the series his own personal whipping ground. While some observers complain that today's Nationwide Series is overrun with Sprint Cup Series regulars, this is nothing new. In the inaugural season, Cup regulars Darrell Waltrip, Harry Gant and Morgan Shepherd all won races. Earnhardt Sr., Mark Martin and Terry Labonte were double-dipping in the mid-1990s. So far this season, though, each of the 24 Nationwide Series races has been won by either a Sprint Cup Series regular, or a driver with at least one points or non-points victory in a Sprint Cup Series car. However, this year's Nationwide championship battle among Sam Hornish Jr., Austin Dillon, Elliott Sadler and Regan Smith is giving the series plenty of action and drama headed into the final nine weeks of the season. How fitting is it that this milestone for the series comes at the short track of Richmond International Raceway. Known for its beating-and-banging action on the track, and exciting post-race activity on pit road, Richmond will play the perfect host. Many of the Nationwide Series' most memorable races have come on the Virginia short track, and tonight's milestone event should be no different.

NASCAR at Richmond 2013: Race Weekend Schedule, Start Time, Qualifying, TV and Weather Info

NASCAR heads to Richmond International Raceway this weekend.  The Nationwide Virginia 529 College Savings 250 will run on Friday, September 6 while the Sprint Cup series Federated Auto Parts 500 will run Saturday evening, September 7. The Camping World Truck series is at Iowa Speedway this weekend, for the Fan Appreciation 200, which will run on Sunday, September 9 in the afternoon...

Jeff Burton not returning to RCR in 2014

Jeff Burton will not be returning to pilot the No. 31 Chevrolet for Richard Childress Racing in 2014, the organization announced in a press release on Wednesday. The decision to not return next season was Burton’s, according to the release. Burton, who has been with RCR since 2005, won 4 of his 21 career wins with the team. Burton said during an afternoon teleconference that he...

Kevin Harvick gets in a little family time

It was good to see Kevin Harvick getting to be daddy and husband before Saturdays’ race in Atlanta.  I guess it was “Happy Harvick’s” good luck charm, as he went on to put the #33 Bad Boys Chevrolet in Victory Lane. Photograph by @brandie_summers

Race Notes: Federated Auto Parts 400

It all comes down to this. This is the last race before the Chase for the Sprint Cup begins. There are six drivers in the top-10 who have locked themselves into the Chase and one wildcard has been locked down. Those lucky drivers are Jimmie Johnson, Clint Bowyer, Kevin Harvick,[...]
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.