MLB won't recognize Bumgarner's unique no-hitter
Madison Bumgarner's no-hitter will not go down that way in the MLB record books. Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

By the technical definition of the term, Madison Bumgarner threw a no-hitter for the Arizona Diamondbacks on Sunday. It will not go down that way in the MLB record books, though.

The Diamondbacks and Atlanta Braves played a doubleheader on Sunday, and under the league’s current rules, it meant both games would be seven innings long. Bumgarner started the second game and threw a seven-inning complete game, allowing no hits or walks and striking out seven. He actually faced the minimum number of batters possible, as Ozzie Albies reached on a throwing error in the second inning before being erased on a double play.

The Braves treated Bumgarner’s gem as a no-hitter, but the league will not. Under MLB rules, a seven inning no-hitter does not count as an official no-hitter.

For whatever it’s worth, Bumgarner’s teammates certainly tried to celebrate like it was a legitimate no-hitter. Bumgarner also jokingly thanked commissioner Rob Manfred for the seven-inning game, suggesting that the pitcher was likely aware of the asterisk.

MLB’s designation is understandable, but there should probably be some recognition for this. After all, Bumgarner did exactly what was asked of him. Both teams were well aware they were playing a seven-inning game. If Bumgarner is statistically credited with a complete game shutout — which he will be without any restriction or exception — there doesn’t seem to be a lot of reason to deny him the no-hitter, either.

It’s fair to say Bumgarner might just ignore MLB’s stance, just like he’s shrugged off other potential rule changes he dislikes.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.