Photo by Alex Trautwig/WBCI/MLB via Getty Images

The Boston Red Sox search for a manager to replace Alex Cora will continue in the coming days with another interview. The Red Sox are reportedly set to interview Arizona Diamondbacks bench coach Luis Urueta for the team’s managerial vacancy.

The news, first reported by ESPN’s Enrique Rojas, adds another name to the growing list of potential candidates in Boston. While the interview hasn’t taken place, the Diamondbacks gave the Red Sox permission to interview Urueta, per The Boston Globe’s Alex Speier.

Urueta joined the Diamondbacks organization in 2007. He became a field coordinator for the team’s Dominican Summer League team in 2011 and later served as manager for the Arizona League team from 2013-14.

A native of Colombia, he served as the team’s manager in the 2017 World Baseball Classic qualifiers, before joining the Diamondbacks’ MLB coaching staff in 2018.

The Red Sox have also reportedly expressed interest in Mark Kotsay, who is currently a coach on the Oakland Athletics’ staff. However, the organization might wait to hire a manager until MLB concludes its investigation into allegations of the Red Sox stealing signs in 2018.

This article first appeared on Sportsnaut and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name the managers that led each of the MLB franchises to its last World Series Championship?

Six franchises (Colorado, Milwaukee, San Diego, Seattle, Tampa Bay and Texas) have never won a World Series. 

ARZ / 2001
Bob Brenly
ATL / 1995
Bobby Cox
BAL / 1983
Joe Altobelli
BOS / 2018
Alex Cora
CHC / 2016
Joe Maddon
CHW / 2005
Ozzie Guillen
CIN / 1990
Lou Piniella
CLE / 1948
Lou Boudreau
DET / 1984
Sparky Anderson
HOU / 2017
A.J. Hinch
KC / 2015
Ned Yost
LAA / 2002
Mike Scioscia
LAD / 1988
Tommy Lasorda
MIA / 2003
Jack McKeon
MIN / 1991
Tom Kelly
NYM / 1986
Davey Johnson
NYY / 2009
Joe Girardi
OAK / 1989
Tony La Russa
PHI / 2008
Charlie Manuel
PIT / 1979
Chuck Tanner
SF / 2014
Bruce Bochy
STL / 2011
Tony La Russa
TOR / 1993
Cito Gaston
WAS / 2019
Dave Martinez

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.