Even the youngest of Bulls fans is fed up with the team's front office. Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Even if it could not get any worse for embattled Chicago Bulls front-office heads John Paxson and Gar Forman when it comes to the team’s fans, it definitely just got a lot more embarrassing.

The NBA has descended upon Chicago for All-Star Weekend, and a vocal contingent of Bulls fans interrupted a live television broadcast in the Bulls’ backyard with a chant calling for the ouster of Paxson and Forman.

The awkward incident came during Friday’s live broadcast of ESPN’s “First Take,” which was on location at Navy Pier. The oft-used shorthand “FireGarPax” was chanted by Bulls fans during one segment of the show.

Making matters even more awkward was how the chant broke out after Max Kellerman asked Bulls star Zach LaVine if he has faith in Paxson and Forman. 

First came the boos, then …

“They might think differently, man,” LaVine said in reference to the disgruntled fans, as transcribed by the Chicago Sun-Times. “But I’m with the team man, I gotta put the team first.”

LaVine started chuckling, before saying: “They’re terrible, man,” again in reference to the fans.

The “FireGarPax” mantra has been around for a few years now as a rallying cry for Bulls fans fed up with the organization’s ongoing struggles. 

In fact, a Bulls fan was removed by United Center security just this week over waving a “FireGarPax” Bulls jersey during a game.

This article first appeared on Sportress of Blogitude and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

Can you name every Chicago Bulls first round draft pick since Michael Jordan?
1985 (11)
Keith Lee
1986 (9)
Brad Sellers
1987 (8)
Olden Polynice
1987 (10)
Horace Grant
1988 (11)
Will Perdue
1989 (6)
Stacey King
1989 (18)
B.J. Armstrong
1989 (20)
Jeff Sanders
1991 (26)
Mark Randall
1992 (27)
Byron Houston
1993 (25)
Corie Blount
1994 (21)
Dickey Simpkins
1995 (20)
Jason Caffey
1996 (29)
Travis Knight
1997 (28)
Keith Booth
1998 (28)
Corey Benjamin
1999 (1)
Elton Brand
1999 (16)
Metta World Peace
2000 (4)
Marcus Fizer
2000 (7)
Chris Mihm
2000 (24)
Dalibor Bagaric
2001 (4)
Eddy Curry
2002 (2)
Jay Williams
2003 (7)
Kirk Hinrich
2004 (3)
Ben Gordon
2006 (2)
LaMarcus Aldridge
2006 (16)
Rodney Carney
2007 (9)
Joakim Noah
2008 (1)
Derrick Rose
2009 (16)
James Johnson
2009 (26)
Taj Gibson
2010 (17)
Kevin Seraphin
2011 (28)
Norris Cole
2011 (30)
Jimmy Butler
2012 (29)
Marquis Teague
2013 (20)
Tony Snell
2014 (16)
Jusuf Nurkic
2014 (19)
Gary Harris
2015 (22)
Bobby Portis
2016 (14)
Denzel Valentine
2017 (16)
Justin Patton
2018 (7)
Wendell Carter
2018 (22)
Chandler Hutchison
2019 (7)
Coby White

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!