The league hiatus presents interesting options for top college stars like Scott Perunovich. Brad Rempel-USA TODAY Sports

While many undrafted college players have already signed in the last couple of weeks, only a handful of top collegiate players have inked new deals. One of the reasons is due to questions surrounding whether players could sign contracts for this year, since it the rest of the season remains in limbo. However, with the recent signing of defenseman Scott Perunovich  with the St. Louis Blues to two different contracts, that could open up a flood of players who are ready to sign contacts, according to Scott Powers of The Athletic (subscription required).

Perunovich agreed to two contracts Friday, one that would start this year (assuming the season continues), while the other would start in the 2019-20 season, although both contracts would be two-year deals. The scribe notes that St. Louis had to get NHL approval of the two contracts, which now could open up possibilities for several college players, including Chicago BlackhawksIan Mitchell , Vegas Golden Knights Jack Dugan and Winnipeg Jets Dylan Samberg.

Powers uses the example of Mitchell, who wrapped up his junior season at the University of Denver and has to sign a three-year, entry-level contract due to his age. Mitchell would prefer to sign starting this season as it would immediately burn that first year.

“Right now we are waiting to see what happens with the NHL season,” the 21-year-old Mitchell wrote. “There is a freeze on contracts being signed for this season. If I were to sign a contract now, I wouldn’t be able to play this year if the season resumes. So right now it is just wait and see.”

Technically, Perunovich has not signed either contact, but will sign one of the two once it’s decided on whether the 2019-20 season will continue or not. That could be the case for any other college prospects who are eager to sign, but would prefer to sign for this year and not wait an extra year.

Mitchell continues to wait on whether there is a season this year, but is suddenly more open to signing soon after Perunovich’s deal.

“Yes, all options are on the table,” said Mitchell in a text when asked about signing a similar deal.

Powers believes that the contract itself has already been worked out, especially since Chicago has been willing to hand out “A” bonuses to their top prospects in the past and with Mitchell having the ability to threaten to return to Denver for his senior year, he is likely to get that, although it’s believed that he is leaning towards signing a pro contract.

This article first appeared on Pro Hockey Rumors and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name every NHL player to win the Calder Trophy?

This does not include the original Rookie of the Year winners, so sorry to Carl Voss, Russ Blinco, Sweeney Schriner, and Mike Karakas.

1936-37 TOR
Syl Apps
1937-38 CBH
Cully Dahlstrom
1938-39 BOS
Frank Brimsek
1939-40 NYR
Kilby MacDonald
1940-41 MTL
John Quilty
1941-42 NYR
Grant Warwick
1942-43 TOR
Gay Stewart
1943-44 TOR
Gus Bodnar
1944-45 TOR
Frank McCool
1945-46 NYR
Edgar Laprade
1946-47 TOR
Howie Meeker
1947-48 DET
Jim McFadden
1948-49 NYR
Pentti Lund
1949-50 BOS
Jack Gelineau
1950-51 DET
Terry Sawchuk
1951-52 MTL
Bernie Geoffrion
1952-53 NYR
Gump Worsley
1953-54 NYR
Camille Henry
1954-55 TOT
Ed Litzenberger
1955-56 DET
Glenn Hall
1956-57 BOS
Larry Regan
1957-58 TOR
Frank Mahovlich
1958-59 MTL
Ralph Backstrom
1959-60 CBH
Bill Hay
1960-61 TOR
Dave Keon
1961-62 MTL
Bobby Rousseau
1962-63 TOR
Kent Douglas
1963-64 MTL
Jacques Laperriere
1964-65 DET
Roger Crozier
1965-66 TOR
Brit Selby
1966-67 BOS
Bobby Orr
1967-68 BOS
Derek Sanderson
1968-69 MNS
Danny Grant
1969-70 CBH
Tony Esposito
1970-71 BUF
Gilbert Perreault
1971-72 MTL
Ken Dryden
1972-73 NYR
Steve Vickers
1973-74 NYI
Denis Potvin
1974-75 ATF
Eric Vail
1975-76 NYI
Bryan Trottier
1976-77 ATF
Willi Plett
1977-78 NYI
Mike Bossy
1978-79 MNS
Bobby Smith
1979-80 BOS
Ray Bourque
1980-81 QUE
Peter Stastny
1981-82 WIN
Dale Hawerchuk
1982-83 CBH
Steve Larmer
1983-84 BUF
Tom Barrasso
1984-85 PIT
Mario Lemieux
1985-86 CGY
Gary Suter
1986-87 LAK
Luc Robitaille
1987-88 CGY
Joe Nieuwendyk
1988-89 NYR
Brian Leetch
1989-90 CGY
Sergei Makarov
1990-91 CHI
Ed Belfour
1991-92 VAN
Pavel Bure
1992-93 WIN
Teemu Selanne
1993-94 NJD
Martin Brodeur
1994-95 QUE
Peter Forsberg
1995-96 OTT
Daniel Alfredsson
1996-97 NYI
Bryan Berard
1997-98 BOS
Sergei Samsonov
1998-99 COL
Chris Drury
1999-00 NJD
Scott Gomez
2000-01 SJS
Evgeni Nabokov
2001-02 ATL
Dany Heatley
2002-03 STL
Barret Jackman
2003-04 BOS
Andrew Raycroft
2005-06 WSH
Alex Ovechkin
2006-07 PIT
Evgeni Malkin
2007-08 CHI
Patrick Kane
2008-09 CBJ
Steve Mason
2009-10 BUF
Tyler Myers
2010-11 CAR
Jeff Skinner
2011-12 COL
Gabriel Landeskog
2012-13 FLA
Jonathan Huberdeau
2013-14 COL
Nathan MacKinnon
2014-15 FLA
Aaron Ekblad
2015-16 CHI
Artemi Panarin
2016-17 TOR
Auston Matthews
2017-18 NYY
Mathew Barzal
2018-19 VAN
Elias Pettersson

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.