Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Training camp hasn’t even officially started yet and the Rangers have already made their first cut. Larry Brooks of the New York Post reports (Twitter link) that New York plans to send winger Matt Beleskey directly to training camp with AHL Hartford and will not have him at camp with the big club when it opens up later this week.

While uncommon, this type of move isn’t entirely unprecedented as Buffalo did the same with winger Matt Moulson last season. However, the Rangers will officially have to wait for the waiver period to open up before they can make the move official. That will occur when it gets to 12 days before the start of the season.

Beleskey spent most of last season with the Wolf Pack so the fact that the Rangers intend to send him there should come as little surprise. In 53 games at that level, he had just five goals along with 17 assists while he picked up a goal in four games with New York. As a result, it’s quite likely that he’ll pass through unclaimed once again.

The eventual move will free up some extra cap room for the Rangers. Teams can bury someone making up to $1.075 million in the minors without any cap penalty; any amount after that will still count on its cap. Beleskey’s cap hit with New York is $1.9 million (Boston is also on the hook for that amount) so he will count for only $825,000 on their books.  With winger Brendan Lemieux and defenseman Anthony DeAngelo still sitting as restricted free agents, that extra space will go a long way toward helping to get those players under contract in the coming days and weeks.

This article first appeared on Pro Hockey Rumors and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

Can you name every New York Rangers player in the Hockey Hall of Fame?

An asterisk (*) denotes a non-consecutive streak of play with the team.

RW, 1994
Glenn Anderson
RW, 1952–63
Andy Bathgate
LW, 1953–54
Doug Bentley
C, 1953–54
Max Bentley
C, 1926–44
Frank Boucher
G, 1953–54
Johnny Bower
RW, 2002–03
Pavel Bure
C, 1936–49
Neil Colville
RW, 1926–37
Bill Cook
LW, 1926–36
Bun Cook
D, 1935–42
Art Coulter
C, 1986–89
Marcel Dionne
LW, 1964–65
Dick Duff
C, 1975–81
Phil Esposito
D, 1954–61
Bill Gadsby
RW, 1990–94
Mike Gartner
RW, 1966–68
Bernie Geoffrion
G, 1965–75
Eddie Giacomin
RW, 1960–78
Rod Gilbert
C, 1996–99
Wayne Gretzky
D, 1961–64*
Doug Harvey
RW, 1936–48
Bryan Hextall
D, 1970–71
Tim Horton
D, 1952–69
Harry Howell
D, 1926–37
Ching Johnson
LW, 1996
Jari Kurri
RW, 1988–89
Guy Lafleur
C, 1997–98
Pat LaFontaine
C, 1945–55
Edgar Laprade
D, 1987–04
Brian Leetch
C, 2001-04
Eric Lindros
G, 1943
Harry Lumley
C, 1991–04*
Mark Messier
C, 1935–36
Howie Morenz
C, 1947–51
Buddy O'Connor
D, 1968–75
Brad Park
LW, 1934–43
Lynn Patrick
G, 1963–65
Jacques Plante
D, 1936–42
Babe Pratt
LW, 1960–75
Jean Ratelle
G, 1945–55
Chuck Rayner
LW, 1995–97
Luc Robitaille
G, 1969–70
Terry Sawchuk
D, 1931–36
Earl Seibert
LW, 2006–08
Brendan Shanahan
LW, 1932–35
Babe Siebert
D, 1948–54
Allan Stanley
C, 1937–43
Clint Smith
G, 1952–63
Gump Worsley

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!