Buffalo Sabres defenseman Zach Bogosian has barely cracked the lineup this season. Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

The Buffalo Sabres have decided to offer Zach Bogosian to the rest of the league for free, placing him on waivers today. Bogosian has been a healthy scratch at times this season and reportedly requested a trade, but he also comes with a hefty contract that makes a deal difficult.

Bogosian, 29, was acquired by the Sabres in 2015 as part of the huge Tyler MyersEvander Kane deal, but his constant battle with injury never stopped. In fact, Bogosian has played more than 80 games in a season just once in his career, not even topping 65 since 2010-11. That fact, combined with a steady decline in effectiveness, has made him even impossible to play for the Sabres.

Combine those struggles with the fact that he is still carrying a $5.14M cap hit this season and the idea of a team claiming the right-handed defenseman becomes unlikely. Bogosian is an unrestricted free agent at the end of the year and could still try to continue his career elsewhere, but having a team take that contract off Buffalo’s hands right now will be difficult.

There is always the trade route, if the Sabres are willing to retain some salary, but again it would be hard to see him providing any real upgrade for a contending team. At this point, it seems likely that he’ll just have to wait out the rest of the year in Buffalo (or, alternatively Rochester if the team decides to send him to the minor leagues and save $1.075M against the cap).

This article first appeared on Pro Hockey Rumors and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name every NHL player to win the Calder Trophy?

This does not include the original Rookie of the Year winners, so sorry to Carl Voss, Russ Blinco, Sweeney Schriner, and Mike Karakas.

1936-37 TOR
Syl Apps
1937-38 CBH
Cully Dahlstrom
1938-39 BOS
Frank Brimsek
1939-40 NYR
Kilby MacDonald
1940-41 MTL
John Quilty
1941-42 NYR
Grant Warwick
1942-43 TOR
Gay Stewart
1943-44 TOR
Gus Bodnar
1944-45 TOR
Frank McCool
1945-46 NYR
Edgar Laprade
1946-47 TOR
Howie Meeker
1947-48 DET
Jim McFadden
1948-49 NYR
Pentti Lund
1949-50 BOS
Jack Gelineau
1950-51 DET
Terry Sawchuk
1951-52 MTL
Bernie Geoffrion
1952-53 NYR
Gump Worsley
1953-54 NYR
Camille Henry
1954-55 TOT
Ed Litzenberger
1955-56 DET
Glenn Hall
1956-57 BOS
Larry Regan
1957-58 TOR
Frank Mahovlich
1958-59 MTL
Ralph Backstrom
1959-60 CBH
Bill Hay
1960-61 TOR
Dave Keon
1961-62 MTL
Bobby Rousseau
1962-63 TOR
Kent Douglas
1963-64 MTL
Jacques Laperriere
1964-65 DET
Roger Crozier
1965-66 TOR
Brit Selby
1966-67 BOS
Bobby Orr
1967-68 BOS
Derek Sanderson
1968-69 MNS
Danny Grant
1969-70 CBH
Tony Esposito
1970-71 BUF
Gilbert Perreault
1971-72 MTL
Ken Dryden
1972-73 NYR
Steve Vickers
1973-74 NYI
Denis Potvin
1974-75 ATF
Eric Vail
1975-76 NYI
Bryan Trottier
1976-77 ATF
Willi Plett
1977-78 NYI
Mike Bossy
1978-79 MNS
Bobby Smith
1979-80 BOS
Ray Bourque
1980-81 QUE
Peter Stastny
1981-82 WIN
Dale Hawerchuk
1982-83 CBH
Steve Larmer
1983-84 BUF
Tom Barrasso
1984-85 PIT
Mario Lemieux
1985-86 CGY
Gary Suter
1986-87 LAK
Luc Robitaille
1987-88 CGY
Joe Nieuwendyk
1988-89 NYR
Brian Leetch
1989-90 CGY
Sergei Makarov
1990-91 CHI
Ed Belfour
1991-92 VAN
Pavel Bure
1992-93 WIN
Teemu Selanne
1993-94 NJD
Martin Brodeur
1994-95 QUE
Peter Forsberg
1995-96 OTT
Daniel Alfredsson
1996-97 NYI
Bryan Berard
1997-98 BOS
Sergei Samsonov
1998-99 COL
Chris Drury
1999-00 NJD
Scott Gomez
2000-01 SJS
Evgeni Nabokov
2001-02 ATL
Dany Heatley
2002-03 STL
Barret Jackman
2003-04 BOS
Andrew Raycroft
2005-06 WSH
Alex Ovechkin
2006-07 PIT
Evgeni Malkin
2007-08 CHI
Patrick Kane
2008-09 CBJ
Steve Mason
2009-10 BUF
Tyler Myers
2010-11 CAR
Jeff Skinner
2011-12 COL
Gabriel Landeskog
2012-13 FLA
Jonathan Huberdeau
2013-14 COL
Nathan MacKinnon
2014-15 FLA
Aaron Ekblad
2015-16 CHI
Artemi Panarin
2016-17 TOR
Auston Matthews
2017-18 NYY
Mathew Barzal
2018-19 VAN
Elias Pettersson

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.