Nalbandian escapes further punishment

Argentine tennis star David Nalbandian will not face any further discipline from the ATP Tour following his disqualification from the Queen's club last week for injuring a linesman when he kicked an advertising board. Nalbandian was fined and docked 150 ranking points following the incident but was also facing a lengthy ban. "After a review of the incident, the ATP determined that...
Via FOX Sports
June 25, 2012  |  Discuss

David Nalbandian DQ’ed in Queen’s Club final after bloodying line judge (Video)

David Nalbandian was disqualified from the Queen’s Club men’s singles final in London on Sunday after unintentionally injuring a line judge in a show of anger after a missed point. Nalbandian, of Argentina, was leading Marin Cilic, 7-6, 3-4, when he frustratedly kicked an advertising board surrounding the feet of judge Andrew McDougall. The panel split apart upon Nalbandian’s...
Via Larry Brown Sports
June 17, 2012  |  Discuss

Nalbandian's ugly ending gets worse

The blood was pouring out of the line judge's leg due an act of aggression from a player and that is something I have never seen before in 50 years of reporting this game. The result was David Nalbandian receiving an instant default from ATP Supervisor Tom Barnes, leaving Marin Cilic as the unwitting and only partially happy winner of the Aegon Championships at the up-market Queen...
Via FOX Sports
June 17, 2012  |  Discuss

Fit of anger costs Nalbandian final

David Nalbandian has defaulted from the Queen's Club final after injuring a line judge during the match. The 10th-seeded Argentine kicked the small barrier surrounding the line judge in anger. A piece of the barrier then hit the line judge, causing bleeding on his left shin. Tournament director Chris Kermode said there was no option but to end the match. ''He (Nalbandian) kicked...
Via FOX Sports
June 16, 2012  |  Discuss

Nalbandian fined $8,000 for outburst

Argentina's David Nalbandian was fined $8,000 for a postgame outburst at Australian Open officials following his controversial five-set defeat against John Isner. Nalbandian was incensed when umpire Kader Nouni declined his request to challenge an overturned line call with Isner facing break point at 8-8 in the fifth. Nouni told Nalbandian he took too long to make a decision on...
Via FOX Sports
January 20, 2012  |  Discuss

Injury Update: David Nalbandian Takes One For The Team

Saying that David Nalbandian loves his country is an understatement.  While playing his first round rubber against Romania's Adrian Ungur, he aggravated an inguinal hernia and then tore his left hamstring, yet played through the pain to win 6-3, 6-2, 5-7, 6-4 .  After the match he wept and then stated,  I can’t walk a single step.  I thought I would be in better shape,...
Via Onthegotennis
March 06, 2011  |  Discuss

Tennis News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Yardbarker Privacy Policy and Terms of Service. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.

The 'How sweet it is!' quiz

Winners & losers from the NCAA Tournament's opening rounds

Sports & Politics Intersect: Presidential sports coverage from coast-to-coast

The 'Braves new world' quiz

NHL Weekender: Kings, Avs pushing their way into the postseason

Top 10 players at every MLB position for the 2018 season

Jamal Murray's heel turn is exactly what the Nuggets need

The '30 for #30' quiz

Why you should watch this year's NCAA Tournament

Why you shouldn't watch this year's NCAA Tournament

For Publishers
Company Info
Follow Yardbarker