Originally written November 30, 2012 on Awful Announcing:
The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association is beginning their awards voting on December 1st for the Hall of Fame and National awards of the year, and many familiar names litter the ballot, including long-time ESPN talking heads Chris Berman and Dick Vitale as finalists for the sportscaster Hall of Fame. Joining Berman and Vitale on the sportscaster Hall of Fame ballot are Ken Squier, Skip Caray, Woody Durham, John Ward, Chris Economaki, Milo Hamilton, Al McCoy, and Dan Kelly. The ESPN duo are the most nationally recognized of all of the finalists among a largely regional list. The sportswriter Hall of Fame ballot contains some more familiar names, and the full ballot is Art Spander, Rick Reilly, Dick Weiss, Hal McCoy, Joe Gilmartin, Sam Lacy, Lesley Visser, Mitch Albom, Wendell Smith, and Thomas Boswell. That's right, fresh off of an awful column trashing stat nerds, Mitch Albom is a Hall of Fame finalist! Rick Reilly is there too after a year where he descended into self-parody. The nationals sportscaster and sportswriter of the year awards have a few more palatable finalists, however. The finalists for the sportscaster of the year award include Al Michaels, Bob Costas, Dan Patrick, Dan Shulman, Brad Nessler, Jim Nantz, Joe Buck, Mike Tirico, Mike Emrick, and Kevin Harlan. That's a very solid slate of nominees, with award favorites (Costas/Buck/Nantz) and fan favorites (Emrick/Harlan). When it comes to the sportswriter of the year, there is also a slate of good names, including Peter King, Bob Ryan, Dan Wetzel, Pat Forde, Joe Posnanski, Adrian Wojnarowski, Bill Simmons, Rick Reilly, Tom Verducci, and Mike Lopresti. Wait, Rick Reilly? Bill Simmons in the year 2012? A now-retired Bob Ryan? Well....you can't win them all, I guess. [Sherman Report]

Brain study finds 76 of 79 deceased NFL players had CTE

Five things to watch in the AL Wild Card game

Tony Sparano to step in as Raiders head coach

Eli on Geno Smith: If fans yell at you, you probably deserve it

49ers players come out in support of Jim Harbaugh

Raiders reportedly expected to make a run at Jon Gruden


FCC unanimously ends sports blackout rule

Michael Phelps arrested for DUI

Is hiring Mack Brown a real possibility for SMU Mustangs?

NFL: Abdullah should not have been penalized for praying

Belichick: Pats 'didn't play well enough at all' against Chiefs

Astros new manager A.J. Hinch: ‘Goal is to win championships’

Marlins president: We're not trading Giancarlo Stanton

Heckling Knicks fan suing team over ejection

This weekend in NFL stupid

Kobe: Iggy Azalea has had better career than Swaggy P

College football's post-Week 5 playoff projection

Oregon to don pink-themed unis for breast cancer awareness

Is DeMarco Murray the best RB in the NFL?

WATCH: TBS sends up 'Boom Goes the Dynamite' with promo

Ilya Bryzgalov takes photos with fans while on the bench

NFL Awards: Week 4 edition

The best and worst MLB players in September

Tracking demanding career paths of all Top 25 head coaches

All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Marlins: We're not trading Stanton

Study: 76 of 79 deceased NFL players had CTE

AL Wild Card preview

Heckling fan sues Knicks over ejection

Sparano to step in as Raiders head coach

This weekend in NFL stupid

Kobe chooses Iggy over Swaggy P

Raiders to make a run at Jon Gruden?

Is DeMarco Murray the NFL's best RB?

Ilya Bryzgalov takes photos with fans while on the bench

NFL Awards: Week 4 edition

Michael Phelps arrested for DUI

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.