Found December 08, 2012 on Beyond the Combine:
The winner of the 2012 Heisman Memorial Trophy will be announced Saturday evening, bringing closure to what has been one of the craziest campaigns the most prestigious individual trophy in college football — and arguably in all of sports — has seen in some time. The only question now is whether there’s one more more surprise in the works in what has been a season full of them. Of the three finalists, Texas A&M freshman QB Johnny Manziel appears to be the consensus favorite, but only barely over Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o, with Kansas State QB Collin Klein rounding out the field and by now considered little more than an outside shot. But who knows what might happen when the winner is finally announced Saturday on ESPN? After all, the 2012 college football season will be remembered as one of the most unpredictable in several years, with the race for the Heisman just as up and down as the season itself. Back in August, USC quarterback Matt Barkley was considered the frontrunner alongside the likes of Wisconsin running back Montee Ball, a previous finalist, and fellow QBs Denard Robinson of Michigan and Landry Jones of Oklahoma. All four, however, quickly faded from the discussion, as West Virginia QB Geno Smith pushed his way to the top of the field. By early November, Klein had replaced Smith as the clear frontrunner, but that quickly changed when the Wildcats fell hard to Baylor, knocking them from the top spot in the BCS standings and ending any hopes of a national title bid. This year’s Heisman watch was so unforgiving that one poor outing from the stellar senior at an inopportune time threw the race wide open. By mid November, numerous names had edged their way into consideration, with Stanford running back Stepfan Taylor, Ohio State QB Braxton Miller and USC receiver Marquise Lee all performing at a Heisman level. Ultimately, however, none of them could match the case for two names above all others — Manziel and Te’o. Manziel, known affectionately as Johnny Football, was thrust into the Heisman spotlight after leading Texas A&M to a memorable victory over then No. 1 Alabama, introducing himself with a bang to a public that knew little or nothing about him as recently as October, while Te’o has gradually stated his case by consistently putting out quality performances rather than that one golden “Heisman moment” so many of the voters seem to look for, as well as the immeasurable team leadership and infectious inspiration he brings to the Irish. If, as expected, the award goes to either Manziel or T’eo, it will be a major first for the prestigious club of previous Heisman winners. Never in its 77-year history has a freshman nor a pure defensive player ever won the award. And that on its own would be a worthy conclusion to one of the most intriguing Heisman races in some time.

Wisconsin's Ball wins Doak Walker Award

Unlike last year, Wisconsin running back Montee Ball isn't among the season-ending Heisman Trophy finalists. But he has now earned a significant piece of hardware that eluded him even during last season's record-breaking campaign. On Thursday night, Ball won the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's most outstanding running back. He also was named to the Walter Camp...

Discover Fan Loyalty Poll Rose Bowl Preview: Stanford Cardinal vs. Wisconsin Badgers

The latest results of the Discover Fan Loyalty Poll asked the question if college football fans would rather receive gifts this Holiday season as per usual, or if they would forego receiving presents in order to watch their favorite team win the BCS Championship. In a very close vote, 46 percent of fans opted for presents, while 42 percent said they would trade in all of their Holiday...

Aggies' Manziel, Joeckel earn prestigious honors

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. -- From Notre Dame's unbeaten regular season to college football's biggest awards, Manti Te'o just keeps winning. Now the linebacker needs two more victories to cap an unforgettable senior season. Te'o was honored three times at the 22nd Home Depot College Football Awards show Thursday night at Disney World, including the Maxwell Award for...

Badgers football hands out team awards

The Badgers athletic department released the annual Wisconsin football team awards for the 2012 season on Friday night at a team banquet. Earning MVP awards were Jared Abbrederis and Montee Ball on offense and Chris Borland and Mike Taylor on defense. Long time director of strength and conditioning John Dettmann was giving the only award that's not given to a player as he...

Wisconsin's Montee Ball Wins Doak Walker Award

Last season we saw Montee Ball set all sorts of crazy records and rush for nearly 2,000 yards yet he couldn't win the big awards - the Doak Walker award (Nation's best Running Back) and the Heisman Trophy. Ball surprised a lot of people and returned to the Badgers for what turned out to be one interesting season.  On Thursday night he was rewarded for that decision as...

Montee Ball wins the Doak Walker Award for nation’s best running back

Another fairly famous Wisconsin Badgers running back won the Doak Walker Award during his senior season and that guy was Ron Dayne in 1999. Montee Ball throws his name in the argument for best Badgers running back ever by taking home the award for the nation’s top running back on Thursday night. If just for a moment, Ball’s name being called is a refreshing change from the national...

Home Depot College Football Awards Preview

It's the Thursday before the Heisman ceremony, and you know what that's time for the College Football Awards Ceremony (presented, like every other college athletic event on ESPN, by the Home Depot)! We won't get to see Erin Andrews slutting it up in a painted on dress this year, but I'm sure Samantha Steele will still be rocking something exciting enough...

2012 Home Depot College Football Awards Results

Here are the results from The 2012 Home Depot College Football Awards show that aired on Thursday night on ESPN. Maxwell Award (Outstanding Player) - Manti Te'o, Notre Dame Fighting Irish Dick Butkus Award (Outstanding Linebacker) - Manti Te'o, Notre Dame Fighting Irish Outland Trophy (Outstanding Interior Lineman) - Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M Aggies...

2012 Walter Camp All-America Teams

The first college football All-America Team is out and it comes courtesy of the Walter Camp Foundation. WALTER CAMP ALL-AMERICA TEAMS First Team Offense WR - Marqise Lee, USC WR - Terrance Williams, Baylor TE - Zach Ertz, Stanford OL - Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M OL - Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina OL - Chance Warmack, ALABAMA OL - Taylor Lewan, Michigan C...
College Football News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.