Vince Carter is calling it a career after 22 seasons. Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

Vince Carter planned on the 2019-20 season being his last in the NBA, but there was some speculation that the future Hall of Famer could come back for another year after the season was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. Though he originally planned on playing more games, Carter is still calling it a career.

Carter confirmed on the “Winging It” podcast this week that he has played his final game in the NBA.

“I’m officially finished playing basketball,” he said. “I’m officially done playing basketball professionally.”

The 43-year-old Carter said he is still open to playing in charity events and exhibitions, but his pro career is over. He called the season being cut short a “weird ending,” but he added that his love for playing golf has made the decision easier.

Carter would have taken part in the resumption of the NBA season in Orlando, but the Atlanta Hawks are not among the 22 teams that were invited. After the season was postponed, Hawks star Trae Young had a classy tribute to Carter.

Carter played 22 seasons in the NBA. He was named an All-Star eight times and won the NBA’s Rookie of the Year Award with the Toronto Raptors in 1999. He is currently 19th on the NBA’s all-time leading scorers list with 25,728 points.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name the winners of every NBA Slam Dunk Contest?

The contest was not held in 1998 and 1999.

2020 / MIA / SF
Derrick Jones Jr.
2019 / OKC / SG
Hamidou Diallo
2018 / UTAH / SG
Donovan Mitchell
2017 / IND / SF
Glenn Robinson III
2016 / MIN / SG
Zach LaVine
2015 / MIN / SG
Zach LaVine
2014 / WAS / PG
John Wall
2013 / TOR / SG
Terrence Ross
2012 / UTA / SF
Jeremy Evans
2011 / LAC / PF
Blake Griffin
2010 / NYK / PG
Nate Robinson
2009 / NYK / PG
Nate Robinson
2008 / ORL / C
Dwight Howard
2007 / BOS / SF
Gerald Green
2006 / NYK / PG
Nate Robinson
2005 / ATL / PF
Josh Smith
2004 / IND / SG
Fred Jones
2003 / GSW / SG
Jason Richardson
2002 / GSW / SG
Jason Richardson
2001 / SEA / SF
Desmond Mason
2000 / TOR / SG
Vince Carter
1997 / LAL / SG
Kobe Bryant
1996 / LAC / SG
Brent Barry
1995 / MIA / SG
Harold Miner
1994 / MIN / SG
Isaiah Rider
1993 / MIA / SG
Harold Miner
1992 / PHX / SF
Cedric Ceballos
1991 / BOS / PG
Dee Brown
1990 / ATL / SF
Dominique Wilkins
1989 / NYK / SF
Kenny Walker
1988 / CHI / SG
Michael Jordan
1987 / CHI / SG
Michael Jordan
1986 / ATL / PG
Spud Webb
1985 / ATL / SF
Dominique Wilkins
1984 / PHX / PF
Larry Nance

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.