Atlanta Hawks superstar guard Vince Carter announced his retirement, with his last game unexpectedly occurring in March due to the coronavirus pandemic an Atlanta's inability to make the return-to-play field in Orlando. Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

In an announcement that was expected but nevertheless will leave NBA fans somewhat somber, Vince Carter has officially announced his retirement following an iconic 22-season career, one that finished on an on-court high note back in March.

Returning as co-host of The Ringer’s “Winging It” podcast for a second season alongside Annie Finberg, the 43-year-old Carter made his retirement official on Thursday.

Given that the Atlanta Hawks would not be included in the NBA’s 22-team return-to-play plan given their 20-47 record when the league went on hiatus due to the coronavirus pandemic, Carter’s acknowledgement that a career in which ranks him 19th overall in NBA al-time scoring has come to a close was merely a formality.

Carter’s best years were obviously behind him over the past few seasons, but the veteran of 1,541 NBA games across time with eight teams proved to be an invaluable resource for a developing Hawks team. It was clear given the comments by his Hawks teammates how appreciated and treasured his presence was on a young roster. The Hawks on Thursday issued a statement honoring Carter on his stellar career.

Carter, an eight-time All-Star, 1999 Rookie of the Year and 2000 Slam Dunk Contest champion, has insisted has no regrets over how his playing time in the NBA will end without a title. What was more important to Carter was the relationships he cultivated with his many teammates over two-plus decades.

What’s more, Carter has big goals for the next chapter in his life now that his playing career is over, and those plans suggest we haven’t seen the last of “Vinsanity.”

This article first appeared on Sportress of Blogitude and was syndicated with permission.

The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name the winners of every NBA Slam Dunk Contest?

The contest was not held in 1998 and 1999.

2020 / MIA / SF
Derrick Jones Jr.
2019 / OKC / SG
Hamidou Diallo
2018 / UTAH / SG
Donovan Mitchell
2017 / IND / SF
Glenn Robinson III
2016 / MIN / SG
Zach LaVine
2015 / MIN / SG
Zach LaVine
2014 / WAS / PG
John Wall
2013 / TOR / SG
Terrence Ross
2012 / UTA / SF
Jeremy Evans
2011 / LAC / PF
Blake Griffin
2010 / NYK / PG
Nate Robinson
2009 / NYK / PG
Nate Robinson
2008 / ORL / C
Dwight Howard
2007 / BOS / SF
Gerald Green
2006 / NYK / PG
Nate Robinson
2005 / ATL / PF
Josh Smith
2004 / IND / SG
Fred Jones
2003 / GSW / SG
Jason Richardson
2002 / GSW / SG
Jason Richardson
2001 / SEA / SF
Desmond Mason
2000 / TOR / SG
Vince Carter
1997 / LAL / SG
Kobe Bryant
1996 / LAC / SG
Brent Barry
1995 / MIA / SG
Harold Miner
1994 / MIN / SG
Isaiah Rider
1993 / MIA / SG
Harold Miner
1992 / PHX / SF
Cedric Ceballos
1991 / BOS / PG
Dee Brown
1990 / ATL / SF
Dominique Wilkins
1989 / NYK / SF
Kenny Walker
1988 / CHI / SG
Michael Jordan
1987 / CHI / SG
Michael Jordan
1986 / ATL / PG
Spud Webb
1985 / ATL / SF
Dominique Wilkins
1984 / PHX / PF
Larry Nance

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.