Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The Texans’ offseason is underway, but they won’t hire a new general manager to manage things. On Monday, head coach Bill O’Brien confirmed the team’s previously rumored plans to keep the current structure in place without the addition of a new GM, via Aaron Wilson of the Houston Chronicle.

The Texans have taken a committee approach to roster management since firing Brian Gaine back in June. Since then, executive vice president of team development Jack Easterby has run the football operations department with O’Brien having final say. Meanwhile, VP of Football Administration Chris Olsen handles contracts and salary cap matters with Matt Bazirgan running player personnel.

When Gaine was forced out, the Texans were denied the chance to hire top Patriots executive Nick Caserio to serve as their GM. After their plans were thwarted, the belief was that they would wait until after the 2020 draft, then hire Caserio away from New England. Apparently, that’s no longer the plan.

The Texans’ unorthodox setup has not prevented them from staying active. The Texans traded for running backs Duke Johnson and Carlos Hyde, giving them the quality backfield that they sorely needed. They also swung a blockbuster deal for Laremy Tunsil and moved Jadeveon Clowney to the Seahawks for a third-rounder and two players. That third-rounder later turned into former Raiders cornerback Gareon Conley.

This article first appeared on Pro Football Rumors and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name the non-QBs to get drafted No. 1 overall since 1967?
2017 / CLE / DE
Myles Garrett
2014 / HOU / DE
Jadeveon Clowney
2013 / KC / OT
Eric Fisher
2008 / MIA / OT
Jake Long
2006 / HOU / DE
Mario Williams
2000 / CLE / DE
Courtney Brown
1997 / STL / OT
Orlando Pace
1996 / NYJ / WR
Keyshawn Johnson
1995 / CIN / RB
Ki-Jana Carter
1994 / CIN / DT
Dan Wilkinson
1992 / IND / DT
Steve Emtman
1991 / DAL / DT
Russell Maryland
1988 / ATL / LB
Aundray Bruce
1986 / TB / RB
Bo Jackson
1985 / BUF / DE
Bruce Smith
1984 / NE / WR
Irving Fryar
1982 / NE / DE
Kenneth Sims
1981 / NO / RB
George Rogers
1980 / DET / RB
Billy Sims
1979 / BUF / LB
Tom Cousineau
1978 / HOU / RB
Earl Campbell
1977 / TB / RB
Ricky Bell
1976 / TB / DE
Lee Roy Selmon
1974 / DAL / DE
Ed Jones
1973 / HOU / DE
John Matuszak
1972 / BUF / DE
Walt Patulski
1969 / BUF / RB
O.J. Simpson
1968 / MIN / OT
Ron Yary
1967 / BAL / DE
Bubba Smith

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.