Photo by Ronald C. Modra/Getty Images

The Philadelphia Phillies are going to spend the early part of the 2020 season paying homage to one of the greatest players in franchise history.

Philadelphia announced on Tuesday that it will retire the late Roy Halladay’s No. 34 jersey ahead of its May 29 game against the Washington Nationals. This comes on the 10th anniversary of Halladay’s perfect game.

“Roy Halladay made an indelible mark on Phillies history with so many spectacular moments, including his perfect game and postseason no-hitter,” Phillies Executive Vice President David Buck said, via the team’s official website. “His impact on the game was evident by his induction into the Hall of Fame. We are honored to have Roy join an elite group of players to have their numbers retired by the Phillies.”

An eight-time All-Star and a member of the Baseball Hall of Fame, Halladay is among the best players in the history of the heralded Phillies franchise.

Halladay posted a career 203-105 record with a 1.18 WHIP and 3.38 ERA. He earned the Cy Young award with the Toronto Blue Jays in 2003 and with Philadelphia in 2010.

The former Cy Young winner tragically passed away at the age of 40 back in November of 2017 after crashing an aircraft in the Gulf of Mexico.

This article first appeared on Sportsnaut and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name these MLB postseason veterans?
3B: 1969 MIN; 1976-81 NYY; 1984 SDP
Graig Nettles
OF: 1971-75, 88 OAK; 1977-81 NYY; 1982 CAA
Reggie Jackson
2B: 1972-73, 75-76, 79 CIN; 1980 HOU; 1983 PHI
Joe Morgan
OF/DH: 1973-74 BAL; 1979, 82 CAA; 1986 BOS; 1987 MIN; 1988 OAK
Don Baylor
P: 1981 MON; 1987 MIN; 1990 BOS; 1992 ATL
Jeff Reardon
P: 1981 LAD; 1988-92 OAK; 1993 TOR
Dave Stewart
OF: 1981, 89-92 OAK; 1993 TOR; 1996 SDP; 1999 NYM; 2000 SEA
Rickey Henderson
OF/IF: 1983, 00 CHW; 1990, 92 OAK; 1997 BAL 1999 CLE
Harold Baines
P: 1984, 87 DET; 1991 MIN; 1992 TOR
Jack Morris
P: 1984 CHC; 1988-90, 92 OAK; 1996 STL; 1998 BOS
Dennis Eckersley
SS/2B: 1985, 89, 93 TOR; 1995 NYY; 1997 CLE
Tony Fernandez
P: 1986-88 NYM; 1997, 00 NYY; 1998 CLE
Dwight Gooden
P: 1986-90 BOS; 1999-03, 07 NYY; 2004-05 HOU
Roger Clemens
C: 1987 STL; 1990 BOS; 1995 CLE
Tony Pena
OF/IF: 1990-91 PIT; 1996 BAL; 1997 FLO 1999 NYM; 2000 ATL
Bobby Bonilla
1B/DH: 1991-93 TOR; 1999 NYM; 2000-01 SEA; 2004 NYY; 2005 BOS
John Olerud
1B/3B/OF: 2007 BOS; 2008 TBR; 2009 NYY; 2010 ATL
Eric Hinske

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.