Rick Scuteri-USA TODAY Sports

The Chicago Cubs are not planning to address Joe Maddon’s contract status until late next year.

Maddon is entering the final year of his contract as the Cubs’ manager and set to make $6 million in 2019. Managers typically don’t like to enter the final year of a contract without an extension in place, but Maddon and his agent appear to understand the circumstances.

Cubs president Theo Epstein told the Chicago Sun-Times’ Gordon Wittenmyer that he wants to see how 2019 goes before addressing the situation.

Epstein called the 2019 season a “pivotal” one for the Cubs and said that they could be ready to make big changes if things don’t go well.

If the Cubs have a great season next year, it seems like they would be inclined to retain their core players and leadership, such as Maddon. If things don’t go well enough, they might want to bring in a different manager. And if the season becomes a disaster, who knows how many changes they could make.

A previous report suggested there is occasionally a tense relationship between Maddon and Epstein. Despite that, they have teamed for great success the past four years. The team has won the NL Central twice, won their first World Series in over a century, and reached the playoffs all four years. However, losing in the NL Wild Card Game is not a satisfactory result for Epstein, which is why he is not committing to Maddon beyond next season.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name the managers that led each of the MLB franchises to its last World Series Championship?

Six franchises (Colorado, Milwaukee, San Diego, Seattle, Tampa Bay and Texas) have never won a World Series. 

ARZ / 2001
Bob Brenly
ATL / 1995
Bobby Cox
BAL / 1983
Joe Altobelli
BOS / 2018
Alex Cora
CHC / 2016
Joe Maddon
CHW / 2005
Ozzie Guillen
CIN / 1990
Lou Piniella
CLE / 1948
Lou Boudreau
DET / 1984
Sparky Anderson
HOU / 2017
A.J. Hinch
KC / 2015
Ned Yost
LAA / 2002
Mike Scioscia
LAD / 1988
Tommy Lasorda
MIA / 2003
Jack McKeon
MIN / 1991
Tom Kelly
NYM / 1986
Davey Johnson
NYY / 2009
Joe Girardi
OAK / 1989
Tony La Russa
PHI / 2008
Charlie Manuel
PIT / 1979
Chuck Tanner
SF / 2014
Bruce Bochy
STL / 2011
Tony La Russa
TOR / 1993
Cito Gaston
WAS / 2019
Dave Martinez

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.