Former Vikings safety Jayron Kearse will be signing with the division-rival Lions. Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports

Early Thursday morning, the Lions agreed to sign former Vikings safety Jayron Kearse to a one-year, $2.75M deal, as Tom Pelissero of tweets. Kearse will be a part of the Lions’ new-look secondary, one that must figure out how to contain the pass without the services of Darius Slay.

Late last week, Kearse took to social media to announce that he did not want to come back to the Vikings this season. He got his wish. Unfortunately for him, he might not be able to suit up for his new team when the season begins in September – a DWI arrest may result in discipline from the NFL. And, per the terms of the new collective bargaining agreement, he could see a longer ban and a steeper fine.

The Lions have moved fast to remake their defense this week, adding safety Duron Harmon, linebacker Jamie Collins, cornerback Desmond Trufant and defensive tackles Nick Williams and Danny Shelton. Among those leaving Detroit: Slay, linebacker Devon Kennard, and DTs Damon Harrison, A’Shawn Robinson and Mike Daniels.

This article first appeared on Pro Football Rumors and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name every Detroit Lions defensive player to be selected to the Pro Bowl since 1960?
10 - LB 1953-1965
Joe Schmidt
9 - DB 1952-1964
Yale Lary
7 - CB 1967-1977
Lem Barney
5 - DT 1960-1966
Roger Brown
4 - DT 1958-1970
Alex Karras
4 - DT 1975-1985
Doug English
4 - LB 1988-1995
Chris Spielman
4 - DT 2010-2014
Ndamukong Suh
3 - DB 1960-1965
Night Train Lane
3 - LB 1958-1972
Wayne Walker
3 - CB 1959-1972
Dick LeBeau
3 - DE 1978-1982
Al Baker
3 - DT 1987-1992
Jerry Ball
3 - DE 1992-2003
Robert Porcher
3 - CB 2013-2019
Darius Slay
2 - DB 1957-1965
Terry Barr
2 - LB 1995-2001
Stephen Boyd
2 - DE 1995-2003
Luther Elliss
2 - CB 2003-2006
Dre' Bly
2 - DT 2001-2007
Shaun Rogers
1 - DE 1955-1967
Darris McCord
1 - LB 1965-1973
Mike Lucci
1 - FS 1973-1977
Dick Jauron
1 - LB 1967-1978
Paul Naumoff
1 - LB 1983-1992
Mike Cofer
1 - LB 1993-1994
Pat Swilling
1 - DB 1988-1996
Bennie Blades
1 - DB 2013-2018
Glover Quin
1 - DE 2013-2018
Ezekiel Ansah

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.